Kazuo Ishiguro – Nocturnes

23 Dec

A couple of weeks ago I was facebooking, and by coincidence, I found a note written by my friend, where she wrote down the 100 books you MUST read before you die. I was psyched, cos I’m a sucker for all these 100 >insert object < you must >insert verb< before you die. I have no idea why, but I think it has something to do with me. wanting to know our society better and I guess one of the ways to do it so to read, see and hear about all the events, masterpieces etc, that has shaped our world.

So this book caught my mind, and I instantly went on the internet to reserve it. It was ready to be picked up 3 days after.  I’ve read Ishiguro’s “Never Let Me Go,” and after finishing it, I was left touched and deeply impressed.

Don’t you just love books that you can’t get your hands off? :) I was more or less glued to the book. I read it in the bus, before going to sleep, and in my 30 minute breaks at work, which resulted in finishing the book in a couple of days ……

So Nocturnes is described as “Five Stories of Music and Nightfall,” and all these stories take place in Italy. I browsed the internet to find a deeper meaning to these stories and I came across a blog called, “Sunday Film and Books” which described Nocturnes as “On the surface, we are presented with five tales about getting older but gradually we are forced to confront what that means to each of the characters in these stories .”

http://sundayfilmandbooks.blogspot.com/2010/09/nocturnes-by-kazuo-ishiguro.html

After  finishing each story I was always wondering about what intentions Ishiguro had, and I feel like this book could be a ticket into his universe, but I just don’t know where the “entrance” is. Sounds really weird, I know….

I guess I just have to keep wondering…..

One Response to “Kazuo Ishiguro – Nocturnes”

  1. Eric December 24, 2010 at 12:05 am #

    i never read..a solid book…. :-(

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

